C h a z a q
It means "Strength"

Kurt Cobain and me
2002-12-17 | 7:38 p.m.

I'm just a grunge band, drugs, and a skanky girlfriend away from being Kurt Cobain. Turns out we may have something in common, but I doubt it:

Kurt Cobain a celiac sufferer?

6 messages in topic | Start a new topic 1 vware 2002-10-23 11:49

I just read the news story on Kurt Cobain and suddenly wondered if maybe he had celiac disease. His diaries reveal he took drugs constantly to help with the nausea and burning pain in his stomach. He said he'd lay in bed incapacitated for weeks with stomach pain and vomiting everything if he didn't take the drugs to help (heroin was the main one). They say he committed suicide because he hated taking the drugs but couldn't live with the sickness. I wasn't a big fan of his or anything, but still, very sad if true since celiac is treatable.

2 mannabbe 2002-10-23 11:56

I must admit that when I read the article about Kurt Cobain in the newspaper yesterday I thought the EXACT SAME THING.

Laurie

3 kyle.brodie 2002-10-23 13:34

I thought the exact same thing too! I remember how frusterated I was for years not knowing what was wrong with me, I can see how someone would contemplate suicide. Doctor's aren't much of a help as there is a big lack of awareness of celiac. I remember being told I had irratible bowel syndrome. Glad I figured out what the real problem was. Very sad that Kurt didn't figure it out if he had celiac.

4 jj121491 2002-10-24 11:00

Wow - I also wondered if it was possible that he had CD and went undiagnosed! You're right that it is so frustrating and depressing to go from doc to doc and test to test - sometimes taking years of pain and sickness - to get a diagnosis, sometimes even not getting one. We can definitely take a look at the possibility that this happened to Kurt and be so thankful that we are where we are and have the support of all these people that he didn't have. I have been taking Darvocet painkiller for the pain I have in my left upper flank and hip and I hate that I need it to suppress the pain. I get tested on Tues for intestinal inflammation so hopefully we will find out what's going on soon! We are so much stronger than we believe. :-)

Jenn W.

5 jsbaby_g 2002-11-09 21:57

As a teen I was a Kurt Cobain fan and after countless hours of listening to his music I came to this conclusion he was depressed. I do not think Cobain had Celiac as he's never expressed any thoughts about his food consumption. He could have had burning stomach problem from all the drugs he was talking or the alcohol he consumed. Although I do not know for sure whether he was indeed a Celiac I think it'sas far fetched as those he thinks he was murdered.

Crystal

6 vware 2002-11-11 12:44

Anyone read the excerpts from his diaries? That should give some real insight. I haven't been able to get my hands on it yet but I'm sure it'd be interesting.

back to top

menu
contact
sign the guestbook

hosted by DiaryLand.com