C h a z a q
It means "Strength"

Valentines Weekend
2003-02-16 | 5:27 p.m.

What a weekend! It seems like it lasted much longer than it actually did. Friday I left work an hour early and headed for San Antonio. I was listening to this song called Lamentation (very cool) and meditating on the nature of God. He...I guess "clarified" is the right word...enlarged my view of Him... allowed me to see more of a certain aspect of Him, concerning our Creation and what it will be like to worship before Him after I'm done with this body (I can't wait, but I have to!). So that was awesome. Then I popped in a praise CD and considered the possibility of war.

So I got to San Antonio just as it was getting dark and rush hour was in full swing! The traffic still wasn't bad compared to Austin (wait for it). It was cloudy and cool, quite beautiful. I went to Jamie and Juli's apartment so I could change my clothes. I was going to meet Naomi for some reception thing later in the evening. I got to the apartment and, in the excitement of having sooo many visitors (family and friends) and perparing for a marathon (wait for it), they accidentally locked me out. This was PERFECT! If the door had been unlocked I would have gone straight in to the apartment and showered and totally missed part of the sunset, a glorious light rain that smelled so fresh, and the singing of about 30 million grackles. It was great. Naomi and I worked out our evening plans during that time. Then I went to Banana Republic where I found a SWEET blue dress shirt and some great socks, Bath and Body works for some very nice smelling anti-bacterial hand stuff, and to Borders where I read a short story by Dorothy Parker. Then Naomi met up with me and we kinda walked around for a bit before ordering her dinner from California Pizza Kitchen (I had McDonald's fries later that evening). Then we went over to Jill and Caleb's and everyone was there. Naomi scarfed down some pizza she didn't like and we went off to the reception thing. It took us 45 minutes and a trip through part of San Antonio I'd never seen before (but will be seeing again next weekend) before we got there. I did't know anyone there, and Naomi only knew three or four people...we drank some coffee and chatted for a bit and then left. Then we walked around downtown San Antonio before going to Wal Mart, Krispy Kremes, and back to Jamie and Juli's where Juli was waiting patiently for our arrival. OH my GOODNESS!! This journal entry could not be any more boring..or could it? Let's find out, shall we?

So Saturday morning we woke at 8:30 and left for Austin at 9:30. We got there and hung out for a little while at Motorola Marathon expo, and then we went to Schlotzky's (funny name, great sandwich or something like that) where I had a bowl of fruit (after I dumped it out onto my lap...I just like it better that way). Then we went to our rooms, I showered, and then we waited for Naomi to get there. Actually, we were just hanging out, but we were also waiting for her to get there along with Juli's dad and brother. After that, we went to eat. Then we came back and watched Trading Spaces for a bit and then went to the land of blissful sleep. At 5:00! the alarm went off and Tejano (BLEH!) music was blaring in the room. So, I jumped up and started getting ready and then Naomi got ready and everyone was ready and we left for the expo so Caleb and Jamie and Jeremy and Sean (or is it Shawn?) could run in the marathon in super freezing, excrutiatingly windy weather. We saw them off and Naomi and I went to Whole Foods. It turned out that that the guys would be running right passed the store so Naomi and I planned to run out and cheer them on. They were running much much faster than we had expected though, so we totally missed them and it was just like Monica Lewinsky. So, Naomi and I cut across to the 19 mile marker trying to catch them there, but we were too late again...we did make it to the finish line in time to see them run triumphantly in! 26.2 miles! Way to go guys!

Then we gathered up our things and parted ways. I came back home...a super nice drive even with the slow pokes and speed demons all around me.

I realized that I can't wait to get out of my little town. I felt more at home in Austin, even with all the traffic, construction, and anti-war protests.

I love my friends. They are amazing, and I feel like they are astronomically patient given all my hang ups, but they don't seem to mind. Whether I make them crazy or not, they are very gracious people...

May the Lord Bless them with great abundance and success..and make them His confidants...May the Lord make their paths smooth before them and lead them in the way of righteousness, exalting them above men...May His Peace rest on them daily for all Eternity and I pray their lives will be pleasing to the one True God and that He will be glorified in all they do.

back to top

menu
contact
sign the guestbook

hosted by DiaryLand.com