C h a z a q
It means "Strength"

We'll go when there's cake.
2003-11-13 | 10:33 p.m.

Whoa. Someone could get hurt over there.

Apparently that's what Japanese leaders concluded after 18 Italian soldiers were killed recently by a suicide bomber in Iraq.

Japan has indefinitely postponed its plans to send troops to Iraq. They won't even be sending troops to the "calmer" areas in Southern Iraq which was their original intention. Apparently someone let them in on the little secret that people are killed more indiscriminantly in times of combat.

They are the largest single donor for Iraq reconsctruction, though. Hey, that's GREAT! But we have to make sure the place is at least somewhat stable before we can do the whole reconstruction thing.

They'll probably go back on that too. Am I anti-Japan? No. Am I anti-Japanese? NO. Far from it. A lot of my classmates are from Japan, and they are really smart, hard working, kind people.

I'm anti-promise breaking. I'm anti-going back on your word. Why make promises and then as soon as conditions are less than favorable for fulfilling those promises, break them? Just don't make them in the first place.

That frustrates me. And I know everyone is guilty of this...governments, corporations, people...everyone is guilty.

I guess it's just Japan's turn.

back to top

menu
contact
sign the guestbook

hosted by DiaryLand.com