C h a z a q
It means "Strength"

you're so vain
2003-02-28 | 8:20 p.m.

You walked into the party like you were walking onto a yacht

Your hat strategically dipped below one eye

Your scarf it was apricot

You had one eye in the mirror as you watched yourself gavotte

And all the girls dreamed that they'd be your partner

They'd be your partner, and....

You're so vain, you probably think this song is about you

You're so vain, I'll bet you think this song is about you

Don't you? Don't you?

You had me several years ago when I was still quite naive

Well you said that we made such a pretty pair

and that you would never leave

But you gave away the things you loved and one of them was me

I had some dreams they were clouds in my coffee, clouds in my coffee and....

You're so vain, you probably think this song is about you.....

Well I hear you went up to Saratoga and your horse naturally won

Then you flew your Lear jet up to Nova Scotia to see the total eclipse of the sun

Well you're where you should be all of the time

And when you're not you're with

Some underworld spy or the wife of a close friend

Wife of a close friend, and....

You're so vain, you probably think this song is about you.....

So here I am. I am supposed to be studying for a test that I have to take at work tomorrow. So here I am. Know what's funny? I think men who use hair care products like hairspray or gels or whatever and spend time fixing their hair are vain. I walked into the bathroom at work the other day and it smelled like hairspray, and I thought, "What's up with these vain men and fixing their hair?" Then I laughed at myself, because I had an appointment for a microdermabrasion treatment later that day. Oh, yesterday. Yeah, so anyway, I think it's really dumb of me that I consider other people who spend time fixing their hair to be vain and I'm off having micro and acid peels, not to mention my eyebrows waxed (in the middle - I don't have women's eyebrows or anything). Know what else is off base? I don't consider myself high maintenance. I mean, yeah, I do stuff to make sure I don't age like all the other men in my family..not a pretty picture folks...but I don't spend an inordinate amount of time in front of the mirror each day either. I wake up, shave, shower, wash my face, brush my teeth, rinse with Listerine, and go. No, I don't fix my hair. It just dries and lies flat on my head. That sounds low maintanence to me. So there's my latest rambling about my insecurities about being high maintenance. Ok, honestly, I'm high maintenance compared to all my close friends, but if you compared me to other gay guys, I'm low maintenance, I think...I don't know. What do you think?

Am I vain? I do have this journal, and I write in it knowing at least one other person will read it. I appreciate you for that, you know. :)

Maybe everyone is a little vain, a little self-centered. Especially people with low self-esteem. So focused on themselves...ugh. get over it.

Oh, sometimes I put my contacts in...in the mornings, when I'm getting ready. So add that to the list. I would, but I'm trying to make sure this entry doesn't make too much sense, and that it's kind of long.

Dang, I've wasted 20 minutes. I spent too much time reading about Carly Simon. You know, I thought she was dead, but it turns out that that was...oh, that bulemic chick...what was her name...beautiful voice...hmmmm....eh, I can't remember.

back to top

menu
contact
sign the guestbook

hosted by DiaryLand.com