C h a z a q
It means "Strength"

whole lotta ramblin'
2003-03-05 | 4:27 p.m.

I had updated yesterday, but it didn't go through. Oh well.

My parents are going to Las Vegas in April for a few days, and they want me to go. I really don't want to though for the following reasons:

1.) I can't afford to spend any money there.

2.) I don't want to see the family I will see there.

3.) I really need to save my vacation time from work.

4.) I'd have to breathe second hand smoke the whole time (my dad's).

5.) I really don't want to see the family I'd see there (except Jessica).

6.) I don't gamble.

7.) I don't drink alcohol.

8.) I don't want to see the Grand Canyon or Hoover Dam this year.

9.) I couldn't the multitudes of free food.

So, I'm SURE there is more to do in Vegas than that. I'm sure there are tons of innocent ways I could enjoy myself, but the things I couldn't get away from (i.e. the family I don't want to see) make it very much not worth my while. So that's that. I've been debating it all day, but I think my decision is sealed now.

In about half an hour I'm going to my spinning class and then coming back and showering before Bible study. I love spinning and I really don't do it as much as I'd like to. John and I have begun a running program that is getting off to a shaky but sure start. That's going to be good too, I think. I'm enjoying being able to run outside again (until it gets hot anyway).

Oh, I get my bonus tomorrow. They took out 35% for taxes. 35%?! I couldn't believe it. Oh well, it's better than nothing. Actually, it's a pretty good bonus.

oh, bible study. I'm really really super unimpressed with the book we are using. I read it and think, "Didn't this guy have an editor??" I'm not the greatest writer, granted...but this is free, and you get what you pay for. *wink* I guess that applies to this book too. It was only $5. I think I got ripped. He spent three, no four pages recounting Of Mice & Men to make a point that he had already made twice in the same chapter and in chapters before. From the beginning, I've felt like this guy wanted to write a book on the Holiness of God but then had no idea what to talk about. So he's just grabbing at everything he can and throwing it out there. What's sad is that this is the revised and expanded edition. I can't imagine what is must have been like before it was revised...and who on earth approved an expansion?! This book needed to be shortened..to a brochure or maybe a leaflet. He just keeps making the same points over and over again...like I am. huh. I guess it is having an effect on me.

After my last micro session, the lady gave me a pamphlet (she called it a menu) of their services, and I noticed that you can get five sessions at the same price I paid for four. I'm going to confront her about this after my friend gets her facial there (I'd hate for her to take it out on my friend if I anger her). And if she doesn't give me another session for free, I'm going to begin a smear campaign to crush her establishment. ha ha...no, not really. but I will cancel. Isn't it funny that I was perfectly happy paying for that extra session until I found out that everyone else could get it for free?

Smear campaign reminded me...don't eat anything from Rosa's. I called there asking about the ingrediants in their foods because I'm diseased (celiac sprue if you are just tuning in). The girl acted like I was trying to steal secret recipes to sell on the black market or something. So I asked to speak to her manager and she told me that she was the manager. She said I could call her boss in Austin the following morning (which would have been Sunday..right) and talk to him about it. She wasn't going to help me though. So I let her know that she was the only one I had dealt with who wasn't compliant with my request. I wasn't going to call her boss, but I think I will write to him and request that they put a list of gluten free products on their website. Wendy's, Mcdonald's, Outback, and Frito Lay all do it. I love those places/brands. :)

back to top

menu
contact
sign the guestbook

hosted by DiaryLand.com