C h a z a q
It means "Strength"

Amy
2003-03-11 | 6:04 p.m.

Hi. This is one of my oldest friends. Her name is Amy. That's me on the left.

Amy gave me my first cat. I think I named it Orco or something like that. I don't really remember.

Amy taught me how to ride a bike. She taught me how to dive off a diving board. We used to play Clue together all the time. And Barbies. When we were seven, she decided we were boyfriend and girlfriend (I didn't know this until we were in the sixth grade...apparently we "dated" for a few years). I hated it when she talked to other boys. I hated it when our parents decided we were too old to be sleeping over at each other's houses. Amy called my mom a bad word.

In high school, I wanted Amy to be my girlfriend. She said no. But she did get me drunk on our senior trip. Hence:

That's Courtney on the right. I have a story about him too, but I probably won't ever tell it. Lots of stories, really.

Back to Amy. She didn't get me drunk I guess. She just said she'd take care of me if I wanted to get drunk. I figured, why not? I was in Cancun. They didn't really care if you were underage. I had never really consumed liquor. So I went for it. $180 in one night...mixed drinks and cover charges. I did my Y chromosomes proud I think. The X's cringed.

Best part...all that alcohol washed right out of my favorite shirt (a mossimo with a kid that people said looked like me in kind of this blurry, multicolored shot..very cool). It took me a few days to recover, but I consider that to have been a good inoculation against future debauchery.

so then Amy went with me to the prom...

only she invited two other girls too. So I had three dates to the prom (essentially). This meant I got to buy dinner for three girls instead of one, and that's it. So I really appreciated that.

Now, Amy is married to someone I have met once in the mall. She has three children of her own and five foster kids. That's what she does...raises kids. I think Amy has always been taking care of people, teaching them things. She started with me. I miss her.

back to top

menu
contact
sign the guestbook

hosted by DiaryLand.com