C h a z a q
It means "Strength"

smiles
2003-04-05 | ~

There's this guy at work. He's obviously gay. Nice dresser. A little bit taller than me. Awesome complexion. Too awesome really, almost like he's wearing make up. Not really that cute to me, honestly. We pass each other in the hall a lot. I always smile at him. He always glares at me.

I smile at everyone. Anyone I pass gets the gift of a smile from me. As I walk past people, my face says, "Hi. I'm Andy, and I'm joyful because I know Jesus." People have commented on my smile. People smile back. People tell me I make them happy. But not this one guy. He just glares.

I decided the other day that maybe to him my smile says, "Hi. I'm Andy. I smile all the time because I have no sense of reality." Or "Hi. I'm Andy. I'm coming on to you with my smile." So the next time I saw him, I just looked at him, raised my eyebrows, and walked away.

Then I felt like the biggest jerk in the world. I should have smiled. So the next time I saw him, he was already smiling at me, and I smiled back. Only my mouth didn't work the way it usually does. Instead of a "I'm happy, you be happy" smile, it was a wry smile. I could feel it, and I didn't mean to smile that way, but that's how it happened. I thought, "oh my goodness, I'm saying with my smile, 'I know what you want, and I've got it right here.'" So I did what I had to do in that part of the building and bolted. I haven't seen him since then.

Facial expressions are such powerful and often misinterpreted forms of communication. I hope nothing comes of this.

back to top

menu
contact
sign the guestbook

hosted by DiaryLand.com