C h a z a q
It means "Strength"

Troy
2003-05-24 | 9:23 a.m.

Hurrah! I have a nasty cough. This is actually good, because I've been sick all week, and I think I'm finally getting over it.

I've called the nursing home where Troy is twice this week to check on him. I just talk to the nurse. The first time, she gave me almost no information.

Hello. I'm calling to check on the status of Troy C.

Well, he's doing the same.

Ok. What does that mean?

He's doing the same as before, when he was in the hospital.

So, does that mean he's ok?

Who is this?

(deep breath Andy, just say it) This is his son.

Well, he's resting now.

Then she hung up.

So I called back yesterday and spoke to a different nurse who told me that he doesn't have his feeding tube in yet. That's next week apparently. Then she gave me the other nurse that I had spoken with before. I immediately told her that I was Troy's son calling to check on him but that I don't talk to him and didn't want to. She told me that he's the same as before. I thought, "not this again." So I said, "would you say that he's fine?" And she said "No. No, he had a lot of problems." I thought, "Lady, you have no idea." I said, "oh. um, ok." and then she hung up. Nice. I wonder if one of the nurses had to read my note to him when I wrote to him a few months ago. I think I told you about that.

Troy had contacted my mom and told her that the end was near for him and that he wanted me to call him. He said a lot of other stuff (he does that), but mom didn't tell me what. So I wrote him a note telling him that I forgave him but that I didn't feel that it would be beneficial for either one of us to communicate any more and that he could rest in peace. Something like that. I think it was worded a bit more crisply but I was careful not to offend. Anyway, if you were an outside party (like a nurse) reading a letter from a son to a dad and had no idea of the history betwee the two, it probably came across as rather cold. Honestly, that should make him proud. He wanted me to be cold. Cold and cruel like him. And, truthfully, he succeeded. That would certainly be my nature if I did not have the Love of Christ coursing through my being. Healing every hurt. Jesus is awesome.

Though the nurse said it's bad, and obviously he can't actually eat anything, I have a feeling he's going to hang on for a while. He always does. Through multiple strokes, heart attacks, pneumonia, rattlesnake bites...the guy just won't die. It's almost like he can't. When I was little I used to tell him that he would outlive all his children. When my sister died, I was slightly worried that maybe I was right. I don't think so now though. He may prolong this end, but this time it will be the end.

Troy has cheated on wives, taxes, businesses, and even death. But not this time. This time it'll be score 1 for Death. And death only needs to score once to win.

back to top

menu
contact
sign the guestbook

hosted by DiaryLand.com