C h a z a q
It means "Strength"

Pondering Abortion in my Kitchen
2003-06-18 | 6:55 p.m.

I'm taking a small break. You wouldn't believe my kitchen right now if you've seen it before. It's so clean! A gross kitchen is one of the most disgusting things in the world, and my was pretty disgusting.

Ok, I just thought of some kitchens I've seen. If you knew me when I was super crazy about having everything clean and perfect, then you know how messy my kitchen was from the perspective of my old self. It didn't really bother me now though.

So I'm still packing. I really could have everything done by the end of the week.

I've been thinking about abortion today because of the Roe v. Wade thing. "Roe" wants it overtuned based on new scientific evidence of what abortion does to women and personal regret.

I used to have this really sweet friend in Botany class. Very beautiful girl. Intelligent. Funny. So one day I said something about abortion...probably something I had read in the news. She casually replied, "I had an abortion." I was a bit shocked and just responded, "ok."

She went on to tell me that she wasn't ready to have a baby at the time and it was the best decision for her and the baby. She didn't regret it at all. I decided she was either in complete denial of her feelings because of the horrific thing she had done, or she really didn't see a problem with it. I didn't say anything.

This is a touchy subject, I know. It's just that there's that other option of ADOPTION out there.

One of my aunts had a daughter that was adopted. I don't say "gave her up for adoption," because she didn't "give her up." She provided her with a chance for a happy life. My aunt already had two daughters. One doesn't know her dad. She didn't want this child to endure the hardship of not knowing her dad or growing up without having nice things. My aunt would not have been able to provide for three kids. So she found an adoption agency and made sure that her daughter would be taken care when she was born.

My cousin's name is Lindsay (or it was). I'm sure the adopting family changed it. She's a teenager now. Sure I don't know her, but I know she's out there somewhere. Her chance at life wasn't taken away because it was inconvenient for her birth mother to raise her. Everyone in the family thinks of her now and then. We love her, in a way, I guess. She's part of us, and we're all grateful that my aunt made the decision she did. I'll probably never meet her until Heaven (God willing she grows to be a Christian). But that's ok. At least there's a chance I'll run into her someday instead of knowing that a life that should exist doesn't because someone else felt it was too cumbersome to deal with for even nine months.

Ok, I know people can go off in a million different directions with this one...like what about rape or incest. Well, you know, I don't know. I know a girl that adopted two crack babies. I have no idea how they were conceived, but I know they are very sweet children. I know their adoptive (ed?) mother loves them very very much.

I'm just thinking about adoption. If you are considering abortion, consider adoption instead. :)

back to top

menu
contact
sign the guestbook

hosted by DiaryLand.com