C h a z a q
It means "Strength"

Harold and Maude
2003-07-10 | 6:52 a.m.

Hi there! I am actually going to write about me this morning. My last day here at work is TOMORROW!! Hurrah!

Unfortunately, I won't have any kind of consistent internet access after that (for about six weeks), but I'm ok with that.

I was going to title this entry "The Old Lady and Me," but then I thought of Harold and Maude. Only I haven't had sex with the old lady and I have no affection for her whatsoever...and she's not as spirited as Maude. Anyway, maybe "The Old Lady and Me" would have been more appropriate.

The little old lady I've been babysitting here at work has made these last few weeks a very memorable experience. I have decided that she has dimentia. I guess that's the best way to describe it. She tells everyone the same stories over and over again. I've even heard people tell her that she had already said that, but she'll keep on telling the story. She panics with the computer and talks to it and to her papers constantly. The most annoying thing, though, is how she squints. She squints at everything. It would be fine if she just closed her eyelids a little bit, but she doesn't do that alone. She also draws her upper lip back a bit in a kind of grimace. It reminds me of a dog my parents have. I've tried to make it easier for her to read things on her computer, but she still squints. I don't think it has anything to do with whether she can see.

I am moving in 11 days. I am SO excited. Naomi is still going with me. I've already taken care of everything but making sure my electricity will be on when I get there and a little packing. Next week I will be spending some time with my friends.

Oh, I decided to be a little bit evil and get the old lady into trouble earlier this week. I showed her how to open up pinball on her computer and how to play it. So I had her into a game (I thought) and then our boss walked in. Unfortunately for my nefarious scheme, she had closed the program just seconds before that. Still, I let her know what my intentions had been so she'd know what kind of person she is dealing with.

Of course, I can get away with smallish evil things because everyone knows I'm just playing. She wouldn't have really gotten into trouble, because I would have explained to our boss that I did it. So except for a little quickening of her heart and maybe a few moments of panic, nothing would have happened. Now that I think about it though, at her age, a little quickening of the heart could be a dangerous thing.

She has her revenge several times a day though. She's constantly coughing with this very sickly sounding deep, wet cough. She's a smoker. She literally smells like a charcoal house sometimes. Anyway, she coughs all over me. It's disgusting. Today my throat is hurting. I wonder if I've caught something from her. If so, she's the truly evil one.

And that's all for now.

back to top

menu
contact
sign the guestbook

hosted by DiaryLand.com