C h a z a q
It means "Strength"

Genesis
2003-11-09 | 2:41 p.m.

May 11, 1978. It was about ten o'clock in the evening, and my parents were watching television (probably a Western...Troy loves those). My mom dosn't care for Westerns, so she decided it would be a good time to go into labor. It wouldn't surprise me if he had wanted to stay and finish the show.

My brother was born in a little town 33 miles away, and that's where I was going to be born. They loaded up the car and headed that way. After they got there, they were informed that the doctor had been at a party. I'm guessing he must have been too drunk to come in to deliver me. They tried to find another doctor, but the only one they could contact in the area was a psychologist. Mom say "Nay" to that idea.

So they loaded up in an ambulance and drove to the nearest city...45 miles away.

The ambulance turned a corner on two wheels with sirens screaming and Mom was rushed into the hospital. I was rather impatient and decided I wanted out. So they pretty much just pushed Mom into the first open room and she delivered me on her own. A nurse was there to catch me, but that was it. I was born breech too, and the umbelical cord had wrapped around my waist. My legs were black, but everything was fine once the blood started flowing again. I was born at 3:53 AM on May 12, 1978. I weighed 6 lbs 8 oz.

That's me a few months later.

I went home from the hospital on May 14, Mother's Day. I was an "easy" baby to raise, according to my mom.

More on that later.

back to top

menu
contact
sign the guestbook

hosted by DiaryLand.com