C h a z a q
It means "Strength"

Gay Justices
2003-11-21 | 3:23 p.m.

Today I listened to an openly gay state supreme court justice and openly lesbian state appeals court justice talk about their experiences in law school and the work force as homosexuals. It was an eye opening event.

I didn't realize it until after the lecture that I had been analyzing the undertones of what they were saying rather than just taking their jokes with a grain of salt.

For example, the Appeals court justice, Jenny, mentioned that in law school she didn't realize she was a lesbian. I don't understand how people cannot realize their attractions. I've heard lots of people say this, and it makes me think that for some people, maybe it is a choice, even if it isn't a conscious one. She went on to say that even after she started to realize her same sex attractions, she didn't act on them, but continued to date people. I couldn't believe my ears. She didn't act on her same sex attractions, but continued to date PEOPLE. So if she had acted on her same sex attractions and started dating women, would she not be dating people?

They both talked about coming out to their colleagues as they worked up the ladder in the justice system. Jenny actually did say something pretty cool that makes sense. You never come out. You come out and come out and come out. It's a lifelong process that occurs everytime you meet someone new who needs to know. She said it better than that though.

Before I go on, let me say that they both seem like awesome, very nice, encouraging professionals.

They talked about what a positive reception they received along the way and that people were so good to be so good about it. At this point, I was kind of disappointed in those two...and myself...and society in general. I am tired of people likening homosexuality to leprosy or something else that might make someone shrink back at the revelation of possessing such a trait. I was soooo grateful for all my friends when they accepted me. I love them. I say that all the time, but my sexual orientation should never have been something that would cause me to fear their rejection. It did, but it shouldn't have. It's not something I should carry with shame. For my conservative readers who I know and love, I'm tempted to apologize for my attitude, but that's just the point. I don't have to apologize, and I'm not going to.

They also said that in the workforce it shouldn't matter if we are gay as long as we are good in our profession. I think that's rubbish. It shouldn't matter if we are gay period. When I get out of law school and make an excellent corporate attorney, it won't have anything to do with my sexual orientation. At the same time, if I dropped out right now and was hired as a corporate attorney and then did a horrible job, that would also have nothing to do with my orientation.

They went on to say that everyone who is gay should come out, because people would see how common it is and it would become less of an issue. You know, I don't have an answer for this. I think it is a very difficult thing to balance wanting people to know and accept alternative lifestyles while saying it doesn't matter. If it doesn't matter, then why do I have to tell everyone? I mean, if I make an issue of it and allow that one trait to be associated with me, how can I then turn around and say, "But don't you make it an issue."

I guess in my ideal little world, everyone would just mind their own business. I can be gay without apology, but I don't need to shout it from the rooftops. I don't even need to tell anyone, and no one needs to know. It's not an issue. However, if I decide to hold hands with a male friend in a public place, I should be able to do so without fear of ridicule. If I have a partner who doesn't work and stays home with our adopted children, I should be able to get insurance through my place of employment for those I love. If I am willing to commit myself to another person and share in my life with that person, I should be allowed to enjoy all the benefits of marriage that straight people do. That's just the way it is. These are basic, fundamental human rights. If Michael Jackson can enjoy these rights with Priscilla Presley, why can't I...if Dennis Rodman can enjoy these rights with Carmen Elektra, why can't I...if Liza Minelli can enjoy these rights with what's his name, why can't I...if Anna Nicole can enjoy these rights some horny old billionaire...why can't I? Don't I deserve these rights just as much as the next person? Especially those people?

So, from a purely political angle, why deny me? It's discrimination, and it's wrong.

back to top

menu
contact
sign the guestbook

hosted by DiaryLand.com