C h a z a q
It means "Strength"

Happy THANKSGIVING!!!
2003-11-27 | 4:16 p.m.

Happy Turkey Day! Just a month left till X-Mas!!

You know, normally, I just shrug off the new names these holidays have acquired. I think sometimes you just have to let stuff go, but today, for reason, I can't.

X-Mas I justify because the X symbolizes a cross, and I am still reminded of its true meaning. Even so, as I see it on my screen, it makes me think of a wheel chair bound, bald Santa with super heros for elves. I prefer to call it Christmas.

And why call it turkey day except to negate the idea that this is a time to be thankful...thankful to one another, but more importantly, God.

If you are thankful to God, then maybe you owe Him something. So it's better to just not acknowledge His blessings or even Him.

And so rather than just not doing the prayer thing thanking Him, we have taken the idea even out of the holiday's name so that we will not risk feeling guilty for not professing some kind of gratitude. Turkey day is so much better, because that's become the real symbol of today...a big, fat juicy turkey on which we can gorge ourselves. Even then we do not give thanks for being able to afford such a meal when others are starving. No, we beat ourselves up about it, becuase this one meal has set us even farther back from becoming the physical ideal our culture worships. And so we lounge in our chairs, watching a football game, and wait for tomorrow when we can be bitter about having to get ready for X-Mas.

back to top

menu
contact
sign the guestbook

hosted by DiaryLand.com