C h a z a q
It means "Strength"

Merry Christmas Eve!
2003-12-24 | 10:21 p.m.

Merry Christmas! I think this was the best Christmas in a very long time. It was just me, Mom, Dad, my sister Janna, her husband Mike, my nephew Levi, and my nieces Lori and Daisy. So it wasn't as crazy as usual. Mom worked all day and Dad and I just kind of hung out. We had a good time.

This morning we talked and drank coffee and tried to figure out our digital cameras. He showed me pictures of the land he bought near the Rio Grande, and I ooed and awed at the appropriate times. It's actually kind of a cool place, but I would hate to go there. Just not my thing. Then I followed him in a pick up while he drove his backhoe to the farm. He told me to take a book. To me that said that my dad is finally starting to figure me out. He's realizing I don't mind hanging out while he does his thing as long as I can do mine while I'm there. So I didn't mind going out to the farm while he shot his new gun since I would have a book. Anyway, we got out there and he moved some round bales of hay around. I fed the dog and looked at some antiques (junk). Then we went to his gun shop and he was telling me about the history of gun powder and all the ins and outs of gun anatomy. It's actually pretty impressive. I'll have to do my own research so I can talk to him about it next time I see him. Then he was going to shoot his newest gun, but we both remembered at the same time that we had left the beans cooking on high before we left.

We pulled into the front driveway, and Dad jumped out. We could smell something burning. He went around to the back through the den while I grabbed the newspaper. I walked in to the house, and dad was opening up all the windows and turning on fans. It was full of dense smoke. He had already thrown the smoldering beans into the backyard. I tried to open the front door, but the lock was stuck. I started to choke but finally got it open. I didn't say anything to Dad, because I'm usually kind of bad about commenting on things he does wrong. We're just that way with each other. So I didn't say anything and just helped open windows and turn on fans.

He went back to the farm to lock up his gun shop and fire a few rounds. I stayed at home to make sure it didn't smoke up again. I finished reading a book I started last night - Skipping Christmas by John Grisham. It's really good. Check it out.

Then I cleaned up around the house and Dad came back. We tried to get everything as clean as possible before Mom got home, but the house still smelled bad. In fact, I'm burning incense in my room right now, because it still smells in there. I was washing dishes when Dad said, "We're busted." Mom was driving up. She came in and Dad went out to the backyard through a different door. She laughingly asked if we were having problems and I just responded with, "What do you mean?" Then Dad and I were the butt of the jokes for the evening, because we basically goofed off all day and accomplished none of the planning stuff except to burn the beans which wasn't part of the plan.

Then I talked to my oldest brother's wife. I haven't talked to her in a long time. She kind of pissed me off a while back, and I decided I didn't need to talk to her. She was pretty cool this time though. She even said that she loves me, though I find those words hard to believe from most people. They are too easily said and too rarely backed up. Anyway, she did tell me this...this is so good. I couldn't wait to tell Mom and Dad. Just when I think Troy's family can't get ANY weirder, they do...and it's wonderful fun to talk about.

My youngest brother from Troy's first marriage is named Jackie. He is 49 or 50. He has two children who are older than I am. His oldest, Candace, has two children of her own. Jackie and I share an aunt, Frances, who has an adopted daughter, Theresa. Theresa has a 20 year old daughter whose name Luisa and I cannot remember. That daughter has just given birth to a son. The father of that son is *drumroll* Jackie! So Jackie has fathered a child with his second cousin who is 30 years younger than he is. They tried to keep it a secret for a while. They didn't even tell Theresa. She finally just called them and said, "I know." Isn't that insane?! I mean, sure they aren't blood relatives since Theresa is adopted, but still! I mean C'MON! It's actually funny though, because Jackie's mom's great grandmother and great grandfather were cousins or something like that. So it's kind of a family tradition with that line I guess. Still, wow. And yes they do live in East Texas where Jackie runs one of the all nude bars he owns. And I'm sure the new glowing mother probably worked (works?) there. Nice huh?

In the meantime, we have yet to hear from Kenneth who recently quit his job because the pictures of his children he kept in a work truck were on the floorboard. So naturally he honored his children's images by flying into a rage accusing people of throwing the pictures down and depriving himself and his family of income. The logic there is flawless of course.

My aunt who stopped talking to my grandmother because she decided my aunt (who is 52) shouldn't need her to provide for her anymore finally started talking to my grandmother again. She needed money for Christmas presents. Nice.

Gotta love family. I'm so grateful that my own immediate family is somewhat sane and logical (to me). I can get over Dad's cigars and the bourbon he's drinking right now and my mom's need to fuss over everyone and inability to just leave people alone. She needs to make sure everyone is involved in conversations and has had enough to eat and doesn't need a refill. She's a servant, what can I say? And Dad's an addict, but it's to socially acceptable stuff and it doesn't impede his ability to be there for his family and friends. My parents are very simple, but very very good people. I'm proud to be their son.

So that's my long entry for today. Merry Christmas :)

back to top

menu
contact
sign the guestbook

hosted by DiaryLand.com