C h a z a q
It means "Strength"

grocery store
2002-11-07 | 10:07 p.m.

So today I went to the store during the middle of Survivor because I thought it was going to have a very predictable ending. It didn't. I don't even really care for the show, but it dominates all Friday conversations at work. So I feel I need to watch it to keep up. Well, once I thought I knew who would be voted off, I left. I came back and someone totally different was voted off! So I don't know what happened, which means I'll be lost tomorrow and I don't want to have to get people to explain it to me. That's not how the conversations work. oh well.

Anyway, when I was in line at the store, there was this OBNOXIOUS pregnant lady in front of me with a very rambunctious 2.5 year old girl. The little girl was very cute and running all over the place. She was hyper. She's 2.5. It's not her fault. Apparently, the pregnant woman wanted the whole store to witness her "skills" as a parent. She was very loudly commanding her daughter to stand by her and not run around. She was trying to be a comedian about it at the same time. Also at the same time she was handing the cashier (cute gay guy named Joel who has been in training for quite a while now) so many coupons and talking about I don't even know what. He was just trying to get her checked out. I don't know what he was doing though, because the cash register scanner thing kept makign noises, but I didn't see any of the merchandise moving. Also, some of her stuff spilled all over the conveyer wheel and he kept having to clean up the wheel and her merchandise. It was insane. Suddenly, I felt so blessed to be gay. I thought, "Thank you God that I don't desire that. Thank you." It just went on and on. Then behind me a lady with her two older kids gets in line. Her kids are playing around like they are six and I hear her comment to one that he is 14 and too big to be getting in the little cars they have for kids to play in there. It was insane. Oh, I said that already. So I keep thinking, "This is why I'm not a breeder" over and over again. And I just felt so grateful. So while it was nuts, it was amusing and no big deal really...UNTIL the possibility of missing Will & Grace occurred to me. Then the obnoxious pregnant lady seemed 10,000 times more obnoxious, but Joel, thankfully, finally got her out of the line. It was my turn, we did our thing, and I was out the door! I made it back to my apartment in 1.5 minutes (and yes I live much farther than 1.5 minutes from the grocery store). I ran a very yellow light and endangered countless lives I'm sure (not really, running those things is the norm here), and I only missed the part of Will & Grace that comes before the opening title song. Then I became very ill and missed all of it until the last couple of minutes. So I got to see Gene Wilder pee all over Eric McCormack...very gross.

and that's it...normally, I read through these to make sure they make SOME sense before I post. i know this doesn't make sense really, anyway, and I don't feel like changing anything. So I'm going to skip that part and just post.

back to top

menu
contact
sign the guestbook

hosted by DiaryLand.com