C h a z a q
It means "Strength"

Cap'n Crunch, that dirty bastard
2003-04-01 | 2:24 p.m.

Ok. Hi. I'm very ill today. My abdomen has not hurt like this in a while. Major cramping. Anyway, I've been going over everything I've eaten in the last few days time and time again. The only "iffy" thing I could come up with is the Cap'n Crunch, but I thought that was ok because it's on the "safe" list of cereals at www.celiac.com So I called Quaker Oats and asked if it is gluten free. The guy said, "Not exactly. Is this a celiac issue?" I told him it was, and he informed me that it has oat gluten. I told him thanks and we ended our conversation. Then I hung up the phone, glared at Cap'n Crunch, and yelled, "Cap'n! You dirty, dirty bastard!!! I trusted you!" Then I went to www.celiac.com to prove to myself to that it was on the safe list before writing to them and finding out what the deal was with the discrepancy. Lo and behold, it isn't on there! So then I thought I was going crazy, because I wouldn't have just randomly bought the cereal unless it was on the list. I went to my notes, and last September I had printed up the safe list for cereals. Sure enough! There it was. Cap'n Crunch. So they've taken it off since because it contains gluten. I should have checked the updated list. now I know. I'm still in pain, but at least I don't have to wonder what caused it.

And I feel better about the move now. All morning (when I've been awake), I've been worried about how I'm going to handle getting sick when I'm in school. Especially if I was going to be getting sick randomly, like I thought I had been this morning. But it was not random, and there was an explanation. I feel better now (about going, not physically). So now I am just going to spend the rest of the day waiting for the pain to go away and running to the bathroom.

It's ok though. I can live with this.

back to top

menu
contact
sign the guestbook

hosted by DiaryLand.com