C h a z a q
It means "Strength"

Lori!
2003-04-06 | 9:42 a.m.

LORI! I never got around to talking about her yesterday.

So I have this niece named Lori. I realize now that I can't remember her middle name. I think Lori is her middle name and her first name is Deborah or something, but I could be way off. Hm. Anyway! She's almost 30, as she and I have both mentioned here and in the guestbook. I am 24. How can this be?!

Her dad is my oldest brother. He'll be 55 this year. He's 3 years older than my mom. What?!

My mom's ex-husband and the provider of my y-chromosomes (his provisions for me stopped at about that point) is 21 years older than my mom. He had been married before and had 4 children with his first wife. Then he left her for another woman, but we won't get into that. My mom was his third, but not final, wife. They had two kids, nine years apart. I'm the youngest.

So, by the time I came around, the kids from his (I'm talking about Troy, by the way. You can see a picture of him a few entries back) first marriage had already married and had children of their own. And that's how that all works.

But back to Lori! My favorite thing about Lori is her laugh. Quick tangent: Yesterday, I realized that I don't really know Lori anymore, and she doesn't know me. But that's all changing now.

Anyway, she has this laugh. It's a laugh that when you hear it, you want to laugh too. Not because it sounds funny, but because it's infectious. It's not obnoxious, but it fills the room and draws everyone into it. It's this great little laugh. And she used to do it a lot. She was always laughing.

When I was little, I always tried to coordinate my visits to my oldest brother with hers. I would call my sister-in-law and ask if Lori was going to be there, and if she was, it was a go! If she wasn't, sometimes I'd visit anyway, but sometimes I'd wait. This was probably annoying to her, when I think about it. Sure we're only five years apart, but there's a big difference maturity-wise between an eight year old boy and a 13 year old girl.

I have this hilarious story about something kinda mean (but not really) that Lori did, but everytime I tell it, I realize it's hilarious to me only. so I'll skip it.

Where is Lori today? She lives in the woods of East Texas, running naked and free, and feeding off the honey of killer bees. That, or she's a wife and mother, has a job, and is going to school. One of those.

back to top

menu
contact
sign the guestbook

hosted by DiaryLand.com