C h a z a q
It means "Strength"

Is anyone more awkward than me?
2003-10-27 | 7:57 p.m.

The most wonderful thing happened to me today. I got up at 7:00 AM (thanks time change!) and was at the gym by 7:45. I ran almost three miles and then lifted weights for a while. Then I got a haircut. It is the worst haircut in the history of mammals (only mammals have hair). If there are aliens somewhere with hair (who would be classified as mammals) and if those aliens have existed for trillions of years experimenting with crazy haircuts, my haircut would be the worst haircut in the history of their species as well.

So after deciding to just be brave and come to class without a large hat, there came a moment when I had to go to the front of the class and get a paper. Lots of people went up at the same time. Lots of people still sat in their seats. That guy I have mentioned before...oh what the heck, his name is Woody...patted me on the shoulder and said, very sincerely, "I like your haircut." Wasn't that nice of him? I responded with a simple, "Thanks." The word was simple, but my use of it was not. First, when he patted me on the shoulder, I turned to him with a "Oh MY GOODNESS, HE'S TALKING TO ME!!!" look. Then when he stopped talking, I just stared for a second. Then my brain screamed, "RESPOND!" So I did, at the same intensity my brain was using. When I get nervous I lose control of the inflection, tone, and volume of my voice. so it was a loud, really surprised sounding, "THANKS!!!!!" Then I turned, grabbed my paper, and walked away.

I'M SOOOOOOO AWKWARD!! I swear, I've never been such a little girl around someone before. He just intimidates the heck out of me. Did I tell you he worked in France before he came here? I mean, how cool is that?

Anyway, I tried to salvage it by sending a short e-mail saying that I appreciated the compliment because I don't really like the haircut.

He never responded.

back to top

menu
contact
sign the guestbook

hosted by DiaryLand.com