C h a z a q
It means "Strength"

just a bunch of rambling
2003-11-17 | 10:07 a.m.

Well, this weekend was fun. I watched a whole bunch of movies and slept a lot. I also went to an opera. Turandot. It was beautiful, but I was not pulled into it emotionally. I thought those things were supposed to make you cry.

The basic concept of this opera is that men are willing to die for a chance to marry a beautiful princess. In order to marry her, they have to answer three riddles. Naturally, several men fail until one comes along. It's kind of like Clash of the Titans. The woman playing Turandot had a beautiful voice and a face that brought that beauty back into balance with the rest of the universe. It was hard to imagine that men would die because she was supposed to be so beautiful. The model they used to advertise the opera was quite exquisite. We all very quickly realized that the model and singer were two different people. She was also rather fat. They were actually wheeling her around on stage. I'm not kidding. It was funny. Still, it was beautiful. My first opera. I'm already organizing another trip for my classmates for February.

I'm also going to organize a cruise for March. I'm excited about that.

A very very cute guy asked me to dinner yesterday. Well, he sort of asked. He's a classmate of mine, and he ended an e-mail about the opera with, "If you ever want to go to dinner, just let me know." That seemed non-committal to me...and I dunno, just not very enthusiastic. So replied with, "We could go to dinner sometime. Just let me know." I guess I was trying to act cool, but secretly, I'm just really wanting him to write back or slip me a note or call or anything with a time and place. Am I going to date him? No. Nothing has changed there. I don't do the boyfriend thing. Still it would be fun to hang out with him. He's very cool. He's a joint-degree student like me. Tall. Dark hair. Deep blue eyes. I'm a sucker for those qualities. I've mentioned that before. He's really sweet and looks amazing in a suit.

So we'll see what happens there.

I'm finally getting over my cold. It's just a cough now. Yesterday's massive influx of vitamin C and E and red tea must've worked. oh! Red Tea. you have to try it. It's awesome. I think the brand is Kalahari. It's Roibos and honey. Not bitter. Very earthy. Rich in Antioxidants. I'm not really a tea drinker, but this stuff is just so good. I had two cups of it yesterday. It's decaffeinated, so you can drink as much as you want. :)

John and Summer called me Saturday night and left the cutest singing message on my voicemail. i didn't feel well yesterday, so I never called them back. But you should have heard it. They made a great duet. It was hilarious.

I went to a club called Aura on Saturday night. It was so cool, except that there are windows in the bathroom that look out onto the dance floor. So, if you're a guy, you're standing at a urinal looking at the dance floor, and I have a feeling people can see in, but I'm not sure. Anyway, other than that, the club is awesome. It's new and everything is very modern. It's on 10th and Burnside, I think, by Powell's books. I highly recommend it. And if you don't like it, Panorama and Boxxes are both right there.

It's a very grey day here in Salem. But the leaves are golden, orange, and red. I love it.

back to top

menu
contact
sign the guestbook

hosted by DiaryLand.com